What are the continuing education requirements for licensed insurance agents in the state of New York?

How many hours of CE do I need for my insurance license?

Property Broker-Agent and/or Casualty Broker-Agent, Personal Lines Broker-Agent, Life-Only and/or Accident and Health licensees must complete a total of twenty four (24) hours of continuing education for every two-year license term.

How often must an insurance agents license in New York be renewed?

In New York, insurance licenses expire every two years. Licenses can be renewed up to 180 days prior to the expiration of the license.

How many hours of continuing education is required by the State of NY?

Continuing Education Requirements

No one is exempt. You are required to complete 36 hours of continuing education during each three-year registration period. Beginning on January 1, 2006, a maximum of 18 of the 36 hours of continuing education may be in educational activities for architects.

How do I check my CE credits in NY?

New York Department of Financial Services

  1. Phone: 518-474-6630.
  2. Email: licensing@dfs.ny.gov.
  3. Website: www.dfs.ny.gov.
IT IS INTERESTING:  What is commercial property and casualty insurance?

What education do you need to be an insurance agent?

Education & Training for an Insurance Agent

You can work as an insurance agent without formal qualifications, but most employers usually require you to gain your Senior Secondary Certificate of Education. You will probably get some informal training on the job.

How many hours of CE must be completed every 2 years?

Credit Hours

All life insurance agents are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years. As part of the license renewal application, agents will be asked to complete a statutory declaration to confirm that they have met this requirement.

How do I become a continuing education provider in New York?

To apply for approval, you must complete and submit an Application for Approval as a Continuing Education Provider for Licensed Mental Health Counselors (Form 1-SB), along with a $900 check or money order made payable to the New York State Education Department, to the address listed at the end of the form, with all …

How do I renew my insurance license?

In order to renew a license, you will need to provide:

  1. License Number and State or National Producer Number or.
  2. Last four digits of the Social Security Number or full FEIN.
  3. Date of Birth (Individuals)
  4. Applicant, Licensee, License, and Residency Type.
  5. Pay electronically: Visa, Mastercard, AMEX, or electronic check.

Do CE credits roll over?

Yes, any continuing education credits completed in excess of the required 16-hours of CE in the current license term, that were obtained within six months of your license expiration date, may be carried over to the next two-year renewal period.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Can insurance investigators tap your phone?

How many continuing education hours must a licensee complete to maintain their real estate broker license?

Real estate brokers and salespersons must complete fourteen (14) hours of Commission-approved continuing education during each two-year license period.

Who needs CEU credits?

Therefore, CEUs are necessary for certain service related professionals like engineers, educators, lawyers, nurses, architects, mental health professionals, and financial planners who are often mandated by their accrediting body or institution to earn a certain number of CEU credits every so often.

How do I find my home CE credits?

Follow these steps to view your CE credits online:

  1. Go to www.myfloridalicense.com.
  2. As you look at the screen, on the left hand side find and click on the Licensee Login tab.
  3. For returning users, login using the password you created. …
  4. After you log in, click on your license number on the right side of the screen.