Are catalytic converters covered under warranty?
Federal emissions laws require carmakers to cover the catalytic converter and PCM/ECM (powertrain or electronic control module) under warranty for eight years or 80,000 miles, whichever comes first. The P0420 fault code could have causes other than a problem with the catalytic converter.
Does bumper to bumper warranty cover catalytic converter?
This type is the most comparable to the manufacturer’s original warranty, but it is really a far stretch to refer to it as bumper-to-bumper because there are many exclusions that would be covered under the factory such as shocks, belts hoses, light bulbs, batteries, emissions, airbags, catalytic converter, and others.
How do I know if my catalytic converter is under warranty?
The easiest way to find out if an emission component is covered under warranty is to contact your local dealer. The dealer can look up warranty information, including any additional warranties that may have been added to the vehicle since it was manufactured.
Will my car insurance cover a stolen catalytic converter?
Car insurance may help cover catalytic converter theft if you have comprehensive coverage on your policy. Comprehensive coverage may help pay to replace your catalytic converter and repair damage done by a thief, up to the coverage limits stated in your policy, and minus your deductible.
How much does it cost to replace a catalytic converter?
Catalytic converter replacement isn’t cheap. For most vehicles, the average cost of a catalytic converter repair is between $945 and $2475 including parts and labor. The catalytic converter cost itself can be up to $2250 of that.
What is the warranty on a replacement catalytic converter?
New aftermarket converters are required to have a five year, 50,000 mile warranty on the converter shell and end pipes. They are also required to be warranted to meet EPA’s emission performance standards for 25,000 miles when the vehicle is properly used and maintained.
What are the signs of a bad catalytic converter?
Driving with a Bad Catalytic Converter (and other Bad Catalytic Converter Symptoms)
- Your Check Engine Light is On. …
- A Rattling Noise In the Engine. …
- You’re Getting Fewer Miles Per Gallon. …
- Your Car Jerks Forward, Loses Fuel During Acceleration, Or Stalls Out. …
- Engine Misfires.
What states require catalytic converters?
California became the first state to require the use of CARB-compliant catalytic converters on January 1, 2009. In subsequent years, other states including New York (6/1/2013) and Maine (6/1/2018) mandated the use of CARB-compliant converters for certain model year vehicles.
Is catalytic converter part of engine?
The catalytic converter is part of the automobile exhaust system. … In a typical passenger car, the catalytic converter, which resembles a muffler in shape, is between the engine and the muffler. It’s on the underside of the car, usually underneath the passenger seat.
How long can you drive without a catalytic converter?
3. How long can I go without replacing a catalytic converter? You can usually continue driving for many thousands of miles with a partially blocked catalytic converter. The first signs of a bad catalytic converter will usually be an error code generated by the post-cat oxygen sensor.
Do I have to replace my catalytic converter?
Catalytic converters change harmful emissions into harmless gas, and they need to be replaced only if they become clogged or otherwise damaged and can’t function properly. They’re expensive to replace, so they aren’t considered a regular maintenance item. A damaged “cat” should trigger a Check Engine light.